About Daphne

I was born in 1985 in Saskatchewan, Canada.  I am the oldest of 3 children.  Although I live in Alberta now, I still call Saskatchewan home. When I was a kid we packed up and moved (like so many other Canadians) to the northern prairies in Alberta where my dad got a job as a junior high school Principal.  I call Saskatchewan home but when I talk about my childhood, Alberta is where I feel like I did the most growing up.  I was a pretty big tom boy.  I loved helping my dad in the summer with projects, building our back deck, helping him build bedrooms in the basement, or manicuring the lawn.  I tried my hand at sports and track (I was the tubby girl who tried so hard for every sports team and never made a single one, except for javelin and shot put, the two areas where no one else entered for competition).  Mostly though, I liked being outside on my bike or going for walks.
As a teenager I was the kid in the family who was always out and about.  I was a social butterfly who couldn't be contained.  By age 13 I wanted a job, by age 14 I had my learner's permit, and by age 15 I was counting down the days until I could "legally" live on my own at age 16 (don't worry, I didn't move out at 16!).  I was involved in Girl Guides, Youth group, Youth choir, Bible study, a ceramics night, and other seasonal school activities too.  During my grade 12 year I was only home for 1-2 evenings a week.  I graduated high school in 2003 and moved out to the "big city" (a city of about 50,000!) 2 months later at age 17.  
I flitted around from job to job and from apartment to apartment for awhile, then in 2005 I met my now husband, Daniel and we started dating December 31, 2005 (the night of my new years bash!).  On March 17, 2007 (St. Patrick's day) Daniel dropped down on one knee and asked me to marry him!  We were married on August 23, 2008 and just celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary this summer.
August 2008
I still love to travel, but I have also discovered other loves.  I love to help others, I love to draw, and surprisingly I have found a love for running!  My hobbies include gaming (I work in a video game store, go figure!), crochet, reading (mostly fantasy books!), tabletop games, cooking, and appreciating video game art and other art.  My goals for my future include working with my doctor to work around my PCOS and infertility and perhaps one day have a baby, I would also love to travel to Europe, and we are currently working on saving up money to send my husband back to school.
August 2012 

No comments:

Post a Comment